About 60 days before a vehicle's registration expires, the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles mails a renewal notice to the address on record that lists the vehicle's registration renewal fee as well as any vehicle property taxes due.
Vehicle registrations must be renewed annually.
Vehicle registration and vehicle property tax are due at the same time and can be paid online, by mail, or at an NCDMV license plate agency as part of North Carolina's Tag & Tax Together program that, under state law, transfers the responsibility of motor vehicle tax collection to NCDMV.
The new registration card and sticker will be mailed within 7-10 business days if renewing online, or will be issued in-person if renewing at a license plate office.
To renew online, the registered owner must have the vehicle's license plate number and last five digits of the vehicle title number, which can be found on the renewal notice, the prior registration card, or an individual's MyDMV account.
Before renewing a vehicle's registration, the vehicle must first undergo a safety and/or emissions inspection no more than 90 days before its license plate expires. Some vehicles may qualify for a waiver.
North Carolina liability insurance must be maintained continuously on a vehicle for registration to be renewed.
306 North Polk Street
Pineville, NC 28134
Phone: (704) 889-3333